How to calculate center of great circles

Tips and tricks for using Geocart 3
Atarimaster

How to calculate center of great circles

Post by Atarimaster »

Hello,

I think I mentioned before that I’m not good at math… ;-)
So maybe someone can help me here.

Before we start: I know that it’d be easier to solve my problem using an image processor on a file that was exported from Geocart, but for various reasons I’d like to do it with Geocart’s options.

As I’ve mentioned in another thread, I’m thinking about a map using the azimuthal equidistant projection, centered to the place where I live.
And I’d like to add a number of great circles passing through the center of the map. The result should look like this:
demo-greatcircles.png
demo-greatcircles.png (26.83 KiB) Viewed 2126 times

As you can see, I’d like lines at a step width of 30 degree (meaning the angle of the lines, not any lat/long values), at least for the moment. I might change my mind on the number of great circles I want.

I know that I can use a metric lines database, with a few entries of that kind:

Code: Select all

<great_circle center='Y,X' />
And I’m fairly certain that you can calculate the various values for X and Y using the lat/long values of the center of the map and its antipode and the step width.
But HOW do you do that?
My guess is that it isn’t even that hard, but … (see first line)
So could somebody please help me out here?

Kind regards,
Tobias
daan
Site Admin

Re: How to calculate center of great circles

Post by daan »

Easy solution: overlay two maps: one centered where you want; the other centered on the north pole, as you have done here.

But I think I must be missing something about your question. Are you asking how to obtain the coordinates for each great circle? Or do you truly just need to draw them? Or do you need (for some unrevealed reason) to draw the great circles on the same map?

— daan
Atarimaster

Post by Atarimaster »