Vector resolution

Tips and tricks for using Geocart 3
Post Reply
jlertola
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:10 am

Vector resolution

Post by jlertola » Sat May 29, 2010 5:02 pm

I see that the map size and resolution command controls how detailed the vector lines are when exporting a pdf file. I am not 100% clear on what resolution means in terms of vector databases. Is there any way to find out what resolution I need to get all the detail that exists in the database onto the map? Is there any way to have Geocart draw all the points in the database and connect them with straight lines without adding or deleting any points? This could be handy. When Geocart simplifies a vector database do the points that remain correspond to specific points in the database?

Thanks,
-Joe Lertola

jlertola
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Vector resolution

Post by jlertola » Sat May 29, 2010 8:11 pm

I found the answer to my question. The generalize vectors command on the map menu turns off the line simplification.

daan
Site Admin
Posts: 721
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 12:17 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Vector resolution

Post by daan » Mon May 31, 2010 10:00 pm

You found it. I’m adding other ways to generalize, by the way. Expect them in the first update.

Post Reply